The town is located in the northern part of the province of Enna, on the border of Messina, at the foot of the Mount of Annunciazione, in the valley of the river Troina, among the towns of Mistretta, Capizzi, Cesaro, Troina, Gagliano Castelferrato and Nicosia.
It seems to be sure the Greek origin of the name in the term Keramion (“brick”, “crock”), as well as suggest the Byzantine forms Gerontas keramíu (1142) and Protopapa keramíu (1157).
Another useful information to help for the reconstruction of its etymology may come from the definition used by the twelfth century Arab cartographer Idrisi, or g (a) branches, which refers to an original name with etching palatal, preserved in the pronunciation of the Italian language.
One of the oldest statements have the form of the Medieval Latin “Chirasmi” (1283).
The documented testimonies that are certain, about its establishment as an urban core, date back to the eleventh century.
Probably, also the Greeks, in earlier times, inhabited the area, as evidenced by archaeological finds that back to the fourth century BC.
In the middle Ages, the town seems to be a possession of Serlo, grandson of the Count Roger the Norman, and the protagonist of the famous battle of Cerami against Muslims.
Subsequently the Lombard families Aleramici, Ventimiglia and Rosso dealt with the jurisdiction of the village.
With the Swabians, the estate passed to the Antiochia and then to the Angevins and then to the Aragonese.
The artistic heritage includes evidences relating to the culture of the past centuries. We must mention the mother church, dedicated to St. Ambrose (ʼ500) and renovated over the centuries; here there are some remarkable works of Gagini and Quattrocchi. The church of Our Lady of Carmelo that has a remarkable Gothic portal. The Abbey church (Baroque style); the church of St. Anthony (XVI century). The church of St. Sebastiano, in Baroque style, built in the first half of the ʼ600; the ruins of the medieval castle; a Greek necropolis in the district Raffo and the Byzantine ruins of Raghali.
The territory is part of the nature reserve Sambughetti Campanito and the Park of Nebrodi, and it includes the sites of Community Importance (SCI) Mountain Pelato and the lake of Ancipa. Its vegetation is thick and is typical of the forests. It has an irregular geometric profile with very accentuated elevation changes: the area is 1,500 meters above sea level.
This village is situated in a dorsal that culminates in a calcareous cliff from which you can admire the ruins of the medieval castle. Its altimetry is not regular.
The primary economic sector is present with various crops, cereals, wheat, vegetables, fodder, vines, olive and fruit, and livestock: cattle, pigs, sheep, horses and poultry.
The secondary sector can count on the presence of small and medium-size companies that operate mainly in the following sections: food, metallurgical and construction.
The service sector offers a good sales network and some skilled services.
The reception facilities can only offer catering.
Among the most important and recurring events there are the feast of St. Michael and the feast of the meeting in May; the feast of St. Anthony in July; the cattle fair, the feasts of Our Lady of Carmine and St. Sebastian in August; the feast of Our Lady of Lavina in September.
The patron saint, St. Ambrose, is celebrated on December 7th.