The town is located in the central part of the province of Enna, on the border of Catania, at the foot of the Mount Campanelli, in the valley of the river Salso, among the towns of Gagliano Castelferrato, Regalbuto, Catenanuova, Castel di Judica, Ramacca, Enna, Nissoria and Assoro with their administrative islands, Mandre Rosse and Mandre Rotonde.
Its name appears in an ancient Greek inscription, Agyrion (Ἀγύριον in ancient greek), in some Latin sources, Agyrium and in a document of 1142, in the Greek form Argyros (“silvery”).
The origins are ancient and the studies of some prehistoric finds showed that – for the first time – the nomads of the Asian-African origin populated the town about 30,000 years ago. They evolved in the working of flint weapons and were hunters, farmers, anglers and, perhaps, even farmers castled on the Mount Teja and gradually turned into permanent populations.
There are traces of human settlements related to the Paleolithic, to the Neolithic and to the Bronze Age.
In the second millennium BC, the Sicani – devoted to agriculture – and the Sicilians, devoted mainly to trade, inhabited the town. In the twelfth century BC, it was already a thriving city and it received soon the worship of Hercules. The town dedicated also a temple to him.
In 339 BC, Timoleon threw the tyrant Apolloniade out and repopulated the town with 10,000 Corinthian settlers.
In this period, the town was restored, there were new buildings, temples, towers, a famous theater and were minted coins and medals. Then arrived the Romans, Byzantines and Arabs.
In the medieval period, since 1063, the Count Roger the Norman carried the jurisdiction of the village. Later it was a Swabian feud and, after, Angevin and Aragonese.
The artistic heritage includes the ancient abbey of St. Maria Latina, now of St. Philip, in the past, it was a Basilian monastery. It was entrusted to the Benedictines by Roger the Norman, it was built to the temple of Geryon where there are valuable works of Brother Umile from Petralia, of Gagini, of Sozzi, of Velázquez (Flemish school), a wooden choir by Nicolò Bagnasco and a valuable tabularium. Then, there is the church of St. Maria Maggiore, whose original structure dates back to Norman times and preserves a wooden crucifix of ʼ500; the church of St. Anthony (ʼ300). The church of St. Salvatore, of the Norman period, that has a remarkable sixteenth-century façade and whose style is of Renaissance and pre-Baroque, that preserves, inside, the Aron HaQodesh (holy cabinet), the most ancient vestments, in Europe, of hebraic origins according to studies conducted by Bucariasi. The church of St. Anthony of Padua, next to which stands a domed bell tower and the church of St. Margherita, built in 1215 under the Swabians, with a bell tower collapsed in the 1693 because of the earthquake; it was rebuilt, and completed, in 1721.
Not far from the town, you can admire an archaeological site of the prehistoric period. At the summit of the Mount Teja – at 884 meters of altitude – fortified with traces of ancient buildings of the sixth century BC, there are the suggestive ruins of the Swabian castle that was rebuilt by the Saracens and of which advance the remains of four towers and a keep.
The territory is part of the nature reserve of the Vallone of Piano della Corte and it includes the Site of Community Interest (SCI) Mount Chiapparo and part of the Site of Community Interest (SCI) lake of Pozzillo.
A dense network of alleys and courtyards characterizes the town, located on the slope of a mountain.
People from Agira live mainly in the capital city and in the Minor urban core of St. Anne.
The primary economic sector is present with various crops, cereals, vines and olive trees, and livestock.
We must mention the production of the loaf from Val Dittaino PDO and the cultivation of the Peach from Leonforte PGI. The secondary sector can count on companies of small and medium size that operate in various sections; the services sector have a good sales network and some skilled services.
Local crafts are very developed, in particular are specialized in working with clay.
The reception facilities offer lodging and catering.
Among the most important and recurring events there are the cattle fairs in April and October.
The patron saint, St. Philipp, is celebrated on May 12th.